The Difficulty With Mince Pies

Dr Stuart Woolley
3 min readDec 19, 2021

Just how do you remove them from their packaging without breaking them?

Photo by Jonathan Farber on Unsplash

Many products these days come with detailed instructions as to how to open their packaging ‘correctly’, many also come with further information as to how to use (and in some cases not use) the product in the manner it was originally intentioned by the manufacturer.

Some even come with a helpline, I kid you not, lest you for example get into difficulties with your toothpaste or breakfast cereal and need some advice about it.

Hello, I’m having difficulties with my toothpaste, can you help?

I jest, of course. Perhaps indeed in these modern times of excessive bureaucracy (I’m looking at you, EU) and multifarious litigation the manufacturers are only covering themselves by doing the bare minimum they have to in order to follow the ridiculous regulations. That’s hardly new.

I must add, though, that I’ve never met anyone working on a toothpaste or breakfast cereal (they’re common on those too) helpline, but, as ever, I digress¹.

Mince Pies 101

You can therefore understand my corresponding irritation (unwelcome at this festive time) at the lack of instructions (and helpline, I may add) on a box of mince pies I recently purchased.

--

--

Dr Stuart Woolley

Worries about the future. Way too involved with software. Likes coffee, maths, and . Would prefer to be in academia. SpaceX, X, and Overwatch fan.